Tags

,

Here and there, this one pops up. It’s not a biggie, but it has the potential to drag down the impact of your writing just a notch.

My headline isn’t talking about regret – instead, it’s a play on the misuse of a contraction. Like this:

I would have gone to the store with my brother, but I slept too late.

If we use the common contraction for “would have,” it becomes:

I would’ve gone to the store with my brother, but I slept too late.

Several times, I’ve seen people write it like this:

I would of bought the red sweater, but they didn’t have it in my size.

Ahhhhh!!! There is no “would of,” “could of” or “should of” in proper grammar – it’s just another shortcut that burrowed its way into our lexicon and shows up now and then.

Just remember – if you’re going to write out the contraction for any of the above sticklers, add “have” instead of “of.”

Would have…could have…should have…

Do this and you won’t have any grammatical regrets!

 

 

 

