Tags

, , , , , ,

fall in Wisconsin brings out many beautiful colorsI’ve been taking more walks lately, just to soak up the beauty, hear the leaves crackling and smell the snappy fall air.

I truly wish the season would hang around a while longer – when we get a good, rip-snortin’ Wisconsin winter, it can last for four months or more, making me wish for fall, my favorite season.

Fall 3Wonder if the people living in the small ranch house behind this magnificent maple tree know that they have daily access to the most spectacular color in our village. Maybe they do…

My Friday walk took me almost 3 1/2 miles through town, on a street that meanders past Lake Michigan before winding through woods. It’s a popular spot for hunters and hiking, and since I don’t often walk this way, I was glad I made the time.

fall 5

The colors of the leaves along this stretch were a little mousy, so I couldn’t help notice the blazing red fire hydrant. It added some flare to things!

One of the earliest signs of fall around here is the arrival of the pumpkin wagon. Whoever owns this usually hauls it to the corner around the middle of September. It’s an on-your-honor system, and I often see parents with little children who are very determined to pick out just the right pumpkin to bring home.

pumpkin wagon

